The Truly Mundane

It’s the simple things that make me really happy.  This morning it was looking into my backyard and seeing a woodpecker feeding on the suet.  The tween boys who are always in the middle of the street playing one sport or another.  My guess at the wildly exorbitant  electric bill of my neighbors who always have five (FIVE!) lamps on in their living room.  The American flag that waves outside of my bedroom window from the empty house next door.  

 

I love waking up on Saturday mornings.  It’s quiet and I am the only one awake.  Addie, our cat, and I roam the house with a broom.  Wipe down the washer and dryer with spray cleaner made with orange-zest steeped vinegar.  Drop a square of vanilla wax on the warmer.  Straighten things here and there.  Stare out the window.  

Image

This afternoon my three teens and I will close ourselves into my old car and putter our way over to my mother’s house for dinner.  We’ll visit my sweet, doll-baby four-year-old nephew and two sisters.  I’m thinking of stopping at the thrift and picking up this chair I’ve fawned over at my last two visits that doesn’t have a price on it.  Very well loved chippy-white wooden chair.  Red gingham seat.  Faded stenciling.  I should get it.  

Image

Time to go and make breakfast.  I’m making a “hash” of red potatoes, eggs and turkey bacon.  Then I’ll start the laundry.  Refill the suet.  Going to get the Crockpot filled with bean and ham soup to separate into bowls for lunches next week.  I’m loving the mundane. 

Image

S

 

One thought on “The Truly Mundane

  1. Oh I just love your crockpot, what a beautiful color 🙂 Hope you’re having a lovely Saturday. Wanted to come by and say hi and thank you for your sweet comment on my blog.

Leave a Reply

