Living Intentionally – Phase One

It’s no surprise to me that I haven’t blogged in awhile.  I am so bad at blogging consistently.  In fact, I am terrible at doing anything consistently :/  SO – I have a long weekend, like many others in the US due to Memorial Day, and I plan to get organized and set up a routine to follow.  

For way too long now I haven’t been living intentionally.  I’ve been going through the motions and doing what I have to do.  The rest of the time I “lose myself” in books or television.  I think the summer is the best time to focus on intentional living!  

I found this “Be Intentional:  30 Baby Steps for Whole Life Change” on The Thrifty Couple.  I follow them on FB and first saw the post there awhile back and thought to myself – Yes!  That is what I need to do!  Not every step is individualized, so I will be modifying it in order to make it cover the things in my life that most need change.  

They break it down into five areas – 

  • Self
  • Home
  • Budget
  • Schedule
  • Frugality 

I am going to add one more area, which I feel is most important:

  • Faith

And a 7th area, which isn’t important overall – but it’s what I personally need right now: 

  • Health & Beauty 

Over the next month (I’m preparing, making up a binder, lists and organizing today and tomorrow) starting this Sunday, May 25th, I will make weekly goals in each of these six areas over the next 4 weeks.  If I am not in a better place at that time, then I will go for another 30 days.  Therefore, I will call this month “Phase One”.  (You see I am already expecting to need more than one month!  LOL)  

 

So here are my Intentional Living Goals: 

 

SELF

  1. Morning five-minute stretch
  2. Drink ALL of my water
  3. Take vitamins
  4. Walk!  ASAP! 

HOME

  1. 20-minute daily quick clean
  2. Make bed daily 
  3. Daily morning routine
  4. Daily night routine

BUDGET

  1. Cut 2% from budget
  2. Find another source of income
  3. Write goals for savings on 2% rule
  4. Create monthly budget

SCHEDULE

  1. Make and use weekly to-do list
  2. USE a calendar consistently
  3. Make Homemaking binder
  4. Make and use a daily schedule

FRUGALITY

  1. Make healthier homemade versions of store bought foods
  2. Cut out all fast food (YES, even ICED TEA)
  3. Create thrifty goals
  4. Make-ahead frugal freezer/Crockpot freezer meals 

FAITH

  1. DAILY Bible reading!!!!!  (DAILY!!)
  2. 3x weekly Bible study 
  3. Work on prayer life
  4. Go to church on a more regular basis 

HEALTH & BEAUTY

  1. Paint nails mani/pedi consistently
  2. Use lotion daily
  3. Wear makeup (and quit scaring people!) 
  4. Use coconut oil on extra dry skin

So there you have it.  My plan.  Not sure which 6 things I will be doing the first week!  I’ll update when I do my Monday post.  

 

Have a great weekend, make sure to remember the real reason we celebrate Memorial Day!  Much love to all the active military and our vets!  ❤

 

Sherry 

 

 

One thought on “Living Intentionally – Phase One

  1. How exciting Sherry. I know change isn’t easy and it’s very hard to hold ourselves accountable, but I’m sure you’ll do well 🙂

Leave a Reply

